Apr 23, 2018

All you need to know about: Formula 1 - 2018


The Formula 1 - 2018 season is underway, and if you aren’t a race fan, now is not a bad time to start! Here’s everything you need to know about the current Formula 1 season.


We’re now three races in to the F1 season, and despite not having the Malaysian Grand Prix this year, the 2018 F1 calendar is set to be packed! This year will see a whopping 21 races, including returns to France and Germany. This will be the first return to France in ten years! The French Grand Prix will take place at the Circuit Paul Ricard, which was last contested on 28 years ago.


Here's what the stacked schedule looks like over the next few months: 

- April 29: Baku, Azerbaijan

- May 13: Barcelona, Spain

- May 27: Monte Carlo, Monaco

- June 10: Montreal, Canada

- June 24: Le Castellet, France

- July 1: Spielberg, Austria

- July 8: Silverstone, Great Britain

- July 22: Hockenheim, Germany

- July 29: Budapest, Hungary

- August 26: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

- September 2: Monza, Italy

- September 16: Singapore, Singapore

- September 30: Sochi, Russia

- October 7: Suzuka, Japan

- October 21: Austin, Texas, USA

- October 28: Mexico City, Mexico

- November 11: Sao Paulo, Brazil

- November 25: Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi


On two occasions, two-day in-season tests will be permitted. These are the only occasions other than race weekends during which cars are allowed to run on circuits. Two legendary tracks have been selected for these test weekends:


- May 15-16, Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain

- July 31-August 1, Hungaroring, Budapest, Hungary



The Stars are Back! Line-ups for the season:

Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas


Ferrari:Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen


Red Bull:Daniel Ricciardo, Max Verstappen


Force India: Sergio Perez, Esteban Ocon


Williams: Lance Stroll, Sergey Sirotkin


Renault:Nico Hulkenberg, Carlos Sainz


Toro Rosso: Pierre Gasly, Brendon Hartley


Haas: Romain Grosjean, Kevin Magnussen


McLaren: Fernando Alonso, Stoffel Vandoorne


Sauber: Marcus Ericsson, Charles Leclerc



While the racers are all male, the 2018 Formula 1 season is making some significant changes. One of these is that Grid Girls will no longer be a part of the Formula 1 season. Formula 1 officials cited the reason for ending the long-standing practice as being "clearly at odds with modern-day societal norms".


"Over the last year we have looked at a number of areas which we felt needed updating so as to be more in tune with our vision for this great sport," said F1 commercial chief Sean Bratches, speaking on the subject, adding that, F1 “…doesn't believe the practice is appropriate or relevant to the sport or its global fan base, old and new.“


The UK's Women's Sport Trust tweeted in support of this, saying: "Thank you @F1 for deciding to stop using grid girls. Another sport making a clear choice about what they want to stand for." A welcome step forward indeed!



Although there have been few changes this year, they have been significant. There are two kinds of changes: in the Technical Regulations and Sporting Regulations.


Technical Regulations:

- T-wings and shark-fin style engine covers banned

T-wings were designed to provide better airflow to the main rear wing.


- Halo cockpit protection device mandatory

The objective of the halo device is to increase driver safety in cases of accidents, especially so that they don't topple out of the cars. Arguably the best possible move in terms of improving safety!


- Certain suspension systems disallowed

Suspension systems designed to change the vehicle’s aerodynamic performance have been banned.



Sporting Regulations:

- Three power units permitted per season, one down from four last season

A solution designed to cut cost and make power units more reliable has been the decision to reduce the number of power units permitted to be used per season. It's a high risk-high reward measure with effects that are yet to be seen.


- Simplified grid penalties for power unit changes

While there might be more grid penalties with one less engine, there will be less confusion over how the penalties will be imposed. Any driver who earns a grid penalty of 15 places or more will have to start from the back of the grid.


- More diverse range of dry tyre compounds

There will be seven, compared to the previous five, slick tyre compounds, all of which are softer than those made in 2017. As a result, these tyres are the fastest in Formula 1 history!


- New standing start rules

2017's standing start rule saw safety cars involved in cases of adverse conditions such as rains or debris on the track. This year, this procedure will not be followed and a new re-start rule has been added. Race control now has the option to send drivers back to the starting grid following red flag stoppages, instead of re-starting behind the safety car.



The three Grands Prix that have rolled out thus far have been incredibly exciting, and with the talent pool running deeper than ever, Formula 1- 2018 is off to a great start! Don’t miss the action!


Disclaimer: All images used are property of www.Formula1.com


Related Articles

Prev post

Next post